Welcome

The first time I went travelling, I was 19, heading to New York, Germany and the UK for a month with my friend. It was amazing, but two things no-one told me was:

1. You need less stuff than you think

2. Make sure both your hands are free during transit

That's me on the right. Handbag plus shoulder bag for cabin baggage? So naive.

That’s me on the right. Handbag plus shoulder bag for cabin baggage? So naive.

I learned the hard way that you buy loads of things to wear, tipping you over the scales on baggage allowances and causing HUGE problems in subterranean train stations. I would like to now thank everyone who stopped in London and New York to help me with my stupidly heavy suitcase up and down stairs. I also learned that carry-on baggage should be as compact as possible, allowing you to reach things like passports, boarding passes, plastic bags with fluids and laptops easily.

These days when I travel, I use a small backpack for cabin baggage, and my travel motto for luggage is never to carry anything that you can’t lift yourself.

Word.

Leave a Reply

