Engrish lessons

DSCF2730One of the things I looked forward to most about Japan (aside from the food, the culture, the architecture, the bullet train, the clothes, the immersion in a totally different way of life….) was getting in some cracking examples of Engrish, and in no way was I disappointed.

Now, I know it is a terrible thing to mock someone else’s language skills when I sure as hell can’t speak Japanese, but I’m only human and it’s hilarious. I also studied linguistics at university, so it’s kind of like study. Right…?

Anyway, here’s a collection of my favourite examples of English rendered in signage in Japan (click on the thumbnails to embiggen and open up a slideshow).

 

 

 

One thought on “Engrish lessons

  1. Pingback: Doing family long-distance | Two Hands Free

Leave a Reply

